10 Questions for Linda Stephenson, CEO

linda-gala-2

You may not recognize Linda Stephenson, but you better bet she’s been behind the scenes of some of your favourite beauty brands. She’s been working hard on her line, Mèreadesso and was kind enough to answer some of my burning questions.

1. What inspired you to start Mèreadesso?

I realized when I became a Mom that I had no more time for myself in terms of lengthy beauty routines. I needed to simplify my skincare without sacrificing results and I figured that a lot of people out there could benefit from that as well.

2. What keeps you passionate about your brand, and how did you settle on skincare?

Hearing from customers that tell me how much they love Mèreadesso really makes my day! I’ve always loved the creative process of developing new products that connect with customers. I have developed products in every category but I felt there was a miss in the prestige skincare landscape. There is very little out there to address the time pressed customer who does not want to engage in multistep products and travels often.

3. My own skin is acne prone/combination, would any of the products in the Mèreadesso line not work for me?

All of my Mèreadesso products should work for you because they have a low PH in the 5.2 to 5.5 range. A low PH product is good for acne prone individuals because the bacteria that causes pimples cannot replicate in low PH environments. Also, none of my products contain heavy oils or waxes which could irritate someone with acne prone skin. 4. Do you plan to expand the line into colour cosmetics? I have already started with my line of Tinted Moisturizers and Tinted Lip Treats but yes, I have plans for more shades of Lip Treats as well as other great ideas in the works!img_2574

5. What’s different about Mèreadesso than other skincare brands out there?

The number of bottles you have on your counter. I have one moisturizer that’s a day/night/eye cream, plus primer and serum. It’s for all skin types, both men and women. My cleanser gently cleans your skin, removes makeup (even the toughest waterproof mascara), is a toner and exfoliator. Two bottles replacing nine.

6. How do you think your background working for Estée Lauder, MAC, Mary Kay, etc. has helped shape your brand?

I am so grateful to have learned from these companies. I have tried to take my favourite ingredients and best practices from my many years working for the Estee Lauder family of brands and incorporate them into my products to offer the consumer the finest possible products that I could dream up!

7. What is the best method for maintaining balanced skin, and which products from your line would be best suited?

Stick to a cleansing and moisturizing routine on a daily basis. No more going to bed with your makeup on! You may also want to look for ingredients like ascorbic acid, salicylic acid and willow bark – these ingredients will typically lower the PH of the product creating an environment that inhibits acne growth and helps to clarify the skin. My Mèreadesso All-in-One Moisturizer and Cleanser would be well suited to help!

8. What tips do you have for women dealing with adult eczema and acne?

With eczema you need to look at your diet as well as what you’re putting on your skin. Because the skin is inflamed and sensitive, you need products that contain soothing ingredients such as aloe. Avoid any irritating treatments such as chemical peels! You may want to be tested for allergies. Sometimes people demonstrate intolerance to certain foods with their eczema. Also – try to lessen your stress levels as much as possible.

9. What is your current skincare routine?

I practice what I preach. I cleanse my skin twice a day with my Mèreadesso cleanser (don’t forget to use the cloth) and moisturizer right after with my All-in-One Moisturizer. People who compliment my skin are often shocked that I don’t do anything else. (I have a real aversion to needles!)

10. What’s your favourite product from the line, and why?

My fave product is the All-in-One Moisturizer. It’s the hero product – the one that resonates the most with customers and its formula stands alone in the industry.

linda-gala-1

What are your favourite skincare tips?

Leave a Reply

